A few part of the site know about this ... if you add a new friend with the web interface, the "Default View" group will already be checked, since it's assumed you'll always want to read that person.
This is a cool way to list somebody as a friend but not actually read them. :-)
Note that your default view is only visible to you, not other people. Other people looking at your friends page will see everybody.